Currently Reading: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl; Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Monday, February 3, 2014

Review: The Park Service by Ryan Winfield

 The Park Service
 (Park Service Trilogy #1)
by Ryan Winfield
Edition: Ebook (338 Pages)
Published: October 12th 2012 by Birch Paper Press
Source: Borrowed from my mom
GoodReads Page

From New York Times bestselling author Ryan Winfield, a thrilling tale of friendship, betrayal, and adventure.

What would you do if everything you had been taught turned out to be a lie? That’s the question fifteen-year-old Aubrey VanHouten must answer when he stumbles onto a post-apocalyptic paradise where the few remaining humans live on the run from deadly drones controlled by a mysterious Park Service.

Now Aubrey must learn to survive in a world he never dreamed existed while searching for answers to why everything he was taught is a lie.

Destined to become a classic, The Park Service trilogy will inspire and delight readers of all ages.


This book surprised me a lot. First I didn't think that this book would turn out as good as it did. With a name of the Park Service you think about our national parks and the men and women who lay down the law within it. Well this book is far from that. Its a post apocalypse young adult novel set in the future. Yeah weren't expecting that were you?

It starts off with a boy named Aubrey, yes its a girls name and he got it from his mother. He lives with his father in their living courtiers. They live underground in a place called Holocene two, there is multiple levels with each level doing a specific thing for its community. Well Aubry lives on level three and spends most of his time reading and trying to learn about the world that no longer exists up above.

Every fifteen year old in Holocene two has to take a test that determines where they will go to live the rest of their lives. If you fail the test then you go down to level 5, while if you do good you can stay on your level. No one has ever done good enough to go up to level 1, that is until Aubrey takes the test. From there is were I think the story really begins.

Everyone in Holocene two retires at the age of 35 were they will go up to level one and go to Eden. Eden is said to be a program where you can live forever and explore the world with your loved ones who have gone to Eden as well. Well doesn't this sound a little to good to be true? Turns out that it is to good to be true. Their is must more sinister behind the scene plot going that no one in Holocene even know about.

On Aubrey's adventure he meets Jimmy, who becomes his best friend. The two of them have to work through lots of tough situations. I think that Jimmy as a character really helped Aubrey grow up more. Jimmy helped teach Aubrey lots of things that later help save his life. Then Aubrey meets Hannah the girl of his dreams. Hannah is a really smart character and she knows everything that is going on with Holocene two. Hannah has secrets that takes time for Aubrey to uncover.

This book was really well written. It has lots of description to the world and really helps you imagine it. I thought that this book was a good read but I hard time sticking with it. There was points in the book that made me want to keep reading and there was other time when I didn't want to read anymore. I would say that if you think the story intrigues you to give this book a try.

I gave this book 3.5 out of 5 bats. (No bats were harmed in the rating of this book)

No comments:

Post a Comment